Winners of the Bob Wildgust Trophy for Director of the Year

Introduced in 2024 by NANDA as a replacement for the Pat Johnson Trophy, which was lost in 2021, and had been originally donated by Peter Johnson in memory of his wife, Pat, who had played a significant part in the development of the Play of the Year Competition. The new Trophy was named by the Council to commemorate the contribution that Bob Wilgust had made over many years before his death in 2022.

2024	Jean Baliol-Key	Robin Hood Theatre	Sherlock Holmes:The Sign of Four
2023	Barbara Seymour	West Bridgford DS	Mother Courage and her Children
2022	Jane Herring	Lace Market Theatre	Pressure
2021	No competition		
2020	Chris Sims	Lace Market Theatre	Foxfinder
2019	Matthew Huntbach	Lace Market Theatre	The Hound of the Baskervilles
2018	Howard Whitehurst	Bonington Players	Move Over Mrs Markham
2017	Anna Hodkin	Bonington Players	Brief Encounter
2016	John Foreman	Market Harborough DS	The Royal Baccarat Scandal
2015	Amanda Hall	Peoples Theatre Company	Robin Hood Babes in the Wood
2014	Anna Hodkin	Bonington Players	The Rivals
2013	Deborah Craddock	Burton Joyce Players	It Runs in the Family
2012	Paul Jennings	Peoples Theatre Company	Macbeth
2011	Patricia Tribe	Nottingham Arts Theatre	Roses of Eyam
2010	Pat Thomas	Dukeries Theatre Group	Ten Times Table
2009	Sarah Kerry	Lace Market Youth Theatre	Much Ado About Nothing
2008	Beryl Hoyle	West Bridgford DS	The Memory of Water
2007	Elizabeth Atkin	Bonington Players	A Midsummer Night's Dream
2006	Beryl Hoyle	West Bridgford DS	Marking Time
2005	Jean Lebeter	Edwinstowe Theatre Group	Caught in the Net
2004	Brian Poulson	West Bridgford DS	Arabian Nights
2003	Howard Whitehurst	Bonington Players	Ring Round the Moon
2002	Scott Woolveridge	West Bridgford DS	The Nativity
2001	Jean Lebeter	Edwinstowe Theatre Group	Seasons Greetings
2000	Howard Whitehurst	Bonington Players	The Importance of Being Earnest
1999	Jean Lebeter	Edwinstowe Theatre Group	Rumours
1998	Hazel Salisbury	Tollerton Drama Group	Hobson's Choice
1997	Howard Whitehurst	Bonington Players	The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
1996	Dave Baliol-Key	Newstagers Drama Group	Diary of Anne Frank
1995	David Kimmins	Keyworth Dramatic Society	When We Are Married
1994	Graham Smith	East Bridgford DG	Dangerous Corner
1993	Paul Cobb	Newstagers Drama Group	Galileo 1993
1992	Elizabeth Atkin	Prospect Players	The Lion in Winter
1991	Robert Dunbar	Kegworth Players	Noises Off
1990	Elizabeth Atkin	Prospect Players	King Lear
1989	Dick Wood	East Bridgford DG	
1988	Beth Hanna	West Bridgford DS	
1987	Edna Theobald	Botiller Players	
1986	Mike Ridley	Wollaton Drama Group	
1985	Joy Linnell	Newstagers Drama Group	
1984	Ted Heath	Newstagers Drama Group	

1983	Edna Theobald	Botiller Players	
1982	Peter Thistlethwaite	Penson Players	Half Way up the Tree
1981	Colin Treliving	Co-operative Arts Theatre	A Streetcar Named Desire
1980	Edna Theobald	Botiller Players	One Hundred Years Old